about my journey towards domestic adoption and other musings

Letting go

It’s not easy, and I find it’s a daily, and sometimes moment by moment, letting go. When I hear that someone else is having a baby, or someone else is adopting or someone else has been chosen by a birthmom, jealousy and sadness comes that, once again, it’s not me. When does it get to be my turn? I acknowledge these feelings and cry to God and then I have to let it go, and remember Him. I realize, once again, that the focus needs to get off of me, and off of other’s situations and on to God. David Crowder Band has a song, called “Only You” that has spoken to me time and time again.

“Take my heart, I Lay it down
At the feet of you who’s crowned
Take my life, I’m letting go
I lift it up to You who’s throned

And I will worship You, Lord
Only You, Lord
And I will bow down before You
Only You Lord

Take my fret, take my fear
All I have, I’m leaving here
Be all my hopes, be all my dreams
Be all my delights, be my everything”

Click here to buy the song, and hear a sample.

It’s a powerful reminder to take it all to God in worship and allow Him to “be my everything.”

Comments on: "Letting go" (6)

  1. Hurting for you!

  2. We’ve never spoken much to you guys about adoption. Not sure why…
    I don’t often say something when I feel compelled to, but I feel somewhat connected to your feelings…. Amy and I have not been through as much as you both have. Our story is not exactly the same as yours. But I thought I’d just say that many times when I see status updates from you on FB, I often pray for you both. My heart hurts for you guys.
    My prayer is pretty simple…. it is this. That someday God will bless you both with a child that he has set apart for you. One that HE has chosen since eternity past to be raised by you. That you both will not grow tired of waiting on the Lord, but continue to trust in Him and His perfect will and timing.
    I wish I knew some other words to help, but all I can offer is our continued prayers for you guys!
    Miss you both! ((Hugs))
    Great song, by the way!

    • John, your words mean more than you know. Thanks for sharing and for you prayers on our behalf. Wish we lived closer and we could more easily share this journey!

  3. Hugs to you! Wish I could grant your request. I will trust and pray and cry along with you to the God who is able and wait for His timing…
    “as for God, his way is perfect”

    • Thanks, Tammy. I like that verse. I’ll have to add it to my list of verses I want to memorize.

Leave a Reply

